An introduction to equality and diversity

Today we had a session with Anita Thomas, Head of Accessibility and Inclusive Learning. We learnt about The Equality Act 2010 and the nine protected characteristics as defined by the act. They are:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Sex
  4. Sexual orientation
  5. Gender reassignment
  6. Race
  7. Religion
  8. Marriage and civi partnership status
  9. Pregnancy and maternity

We considered the difference between direct discrimination, indirect discrimination, harassment and victimisation, through the use of case studies and hypothetical situations.

What was of particular interest was observing how Anita structured and delivered the session. Anita used a great variety teaching resources and learning activities to promote equal opportunities for all learners, regardless of their learning style. One example is a quiz, in which the group had to give true or false answers using red and green cards. However, before we started, Anita enquired if any of the group suffered with green/red colour blindness, in which case she offered A and B cards as an alternative. Although only a small element of her teaching, little things like this can make all students feel engaged and promote participation in activities.

What was also notable, was the amount of engaging student focused activities which encouraged the group to engage with the subject matter and use problem solving skills.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s