Micro-teach initial reflections

PHEW! Am I glad that is over…

What was most striking about the Micro-teach experience was how nervous and apprehensive I was. I was teaching the group a fairly simple technical skill – it’s one of the first skills our level one students learn; cutting a straight line in glass. It is a technique that is second nature to me, that I use most days and regularly teach and advise our students on. Yet, the nerves were quite overwhelming.

I felt like there was quite a lot of expectation to deliver a fun and stimulating experience, whilst demonstrating innovative teaching practices. I think this was because the lesson is being delivered to a group of teachers, most of whom have more teaching and industry experience than I do. There is also the added pressure if the tutors watching, being in the first week, and the camera!

On reflection I now realise that this is not necessarily the case. The Micro-teaches are a way to identify areas for improvement/development within your teaching practice drawing on the feedback and experience of fellow teachers. It’s no good devising a Micro-teach that is all singing all dancing. It makes sense that the lesson is a true reflection of your everyday teaching, so the feedback is relevant your practice and can help you develop.

The Micro-teach…

In short the session demonstrated to students how to cut glass, with a quick opportunity at the end for a student or two to have a go.  I discussed the process step by step and then demonstrated it to the group, I then invited a volunteer to have a go as I guided/promted them through the process in front of the rest of the group. I chose to do this as I didn’t think there would time for all of the group to have a go and receive feedback. Here is the lesson plan.

Microteach Lesson Plan

Initial verbal feedback after the Micro-teach was really positive. I was chuffed! The group were really complementary of the delivery style, content, preparedness and organisation. Steph complemented the “double demonstration” model – how I demonstrated the technique, then used a volunteer to (surreptitiously) demonstrate it a second time to the rest of the group.

All in all a very positive experience. I will now read through the feedback forms and watch the recording. I don’t know what all of the fuss was about!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

